Harakeke Flowers

Scientific name: Phormium tenax
Common name: Flax
Maori name: Harakeke

Summer days are graced with the red up-turned and trumpet shaped flowers of the Harakeke. Widespread in coastal areas, lowland to montane forests, open areas and streamsides throughout all three islands of New Zealand - it is endemic and provides nectar to our nectar loving birds, tuis and silver- eyes.

It feels warm and summery today, Christmas shopping went well with me arriving at the mall by 8.30am and leaving at 11am just as it was getting busy, all is good :)

Apologies for not commenting last night, I was really tired and not worth being around, took myself off to bed with a book but was sound asleep before I knew it, wish I could sleep like that every night! Thanks to all who stopped by with your stars, hearts and lovely words :))

Its starting to feel a little like Christmas......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.