Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Blue Skies Are Here Again

Yesterday evening and this morning were miserable. It was rainy and snowy and just plain gross thus negating any chance for a blip detour. Furthermore, my feeling that spring was almost upon us took a major hit.

Combine all of the above with a tough morning at work and today started on a bad note. The good news is that I decided to take a few minutes out of work for an afternoon blip detour. I immediately noticed that the weather was much improved and drove aimlessly for about 15 minutes looking for something to shoot. Nothing struck my fancy. Eventually, I ended up on a road that I was unfamiliar with.

I ran into this dam by pure chance and my mood lifted when I saw it and the reflection of the beautiful deep blue sky. I took numerous shots trying to decide whether to shoot the whole dam, a part of the dam or even frame the dam in the railing of the bridge. In the end, I found the blue sky and scattered clouds so compelling that I wanted to feature it in the picture.

I love the stillness of the water and the reflections in this picture. As I type this, I am still debating whether to use a close up shot of the dam with the sky to highlight the triangular supports or go with a wide view to highlight the sky. I choose the wide view to highlight the reflection; you can see the shot did I not choose here.

The good news is that after this shot, my mood improved immeasurably. It is amazing how a successful blip can really make your day. This one made mine today and I hope that it brightens yours too!

No Photoshopping here, just basic saturation, contrast and white balance.

Constructive criticism always welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.