Life In Wales

By KarenC

Chinese New Year

I just had Scarlett today as Violet went to nursery, and we drove over to mum's to pick her up, and then we went to Biddulph Grange Gardens which is a National Trust Property.  It's somewhere I've been wanting to visit for a while due to it's Chinese garden.

Although Chinese New Year fell on 5th February this year, the celebrations last for 15 days and so the gardens were all covered with hanging Chinese lanterns, and they had a trail for the kids where they had to find the 12 animals which are the sign of the Chinese zodiac.  Scarlett enjoyed the trail and successfully managed to find all 12 and was rewarded with a fortune cookie at the end which told her that success would come in November! 

It's a lovely place with various gardens such Italy, Egypt and China - China being my favourite because of the Pagoda and the little Chinese bridge.  There weren't many flowers in bloom at the moment, apart from the snowdrops which were very pretty, so I'd like to go back in the summer when there's more colour.

Rachel and Violet were already home when we got back, but as I'd got her key, they couldn't get in - luckily we were only at the supermarket nearby so they didn't have to wait long.

We're all tired tonight and Rach and Scott get up early in the morning for work, so we've all gone to bed, but unfortunately I can hear Violet crying so I think Rach will be up again.  Tomorrow I have both girls, so better get some sleep!

I'm afraid I'm likely to fall behind on comments again this week as I'm not going to get much chance to be online, but I'll catch up as and when I can.  Hope you have a good week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.