Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

In the hospital

Somehow after a good nights sleep the world looked a bit better today.
We went back to the hospital as soon as we could and sat beside Bas' bed all day. The surgeon came by (several times) and we spoke about the surgery and about Bas' recovery. We filled Bas in on the whole story and he took the news about his hand very well.

The doctor brought good news. Although one finger is gone, Bas should be able to use his hand normal again in the future. It will take time and a lot of physiotherapy and exercise, probably over a year, but things should be fine. 
Bas was allowed to get out of bed to walk around for a bit. We helped him in the shower and then had tea and hot chocolate together in a restaurant somewhere in the hospital. Slowly but surely we're all getting used to the situation we're in.

During the day we were told that if Bas' condition stayed the way is was, we would be able to fly home tomorrow evening. That was great news!! 

I got on my iphone and searched for plane tickets. I picked flight BA8459, departure time 17.05, february 18, from London City Airport to Schiphol Amsterdam.
I also booked a taxi that would get us from the hospital to the airport.
All done in a few clicks.

In the afternoon we left Bas to rest for a while. Annemarie and I walked a bit up and down Fulham road (where I made this photo), had a quick lunch and then went back to Bas.

At this point I would like to compliment all the staff, doctors and nurses of the (Jupiter-)ward. Such great caring people! None of them will probably read this, but thank you so so much. You made us feel comfortable during our stay with you.

Just like yesterday we left Bas around 20.30 and went back to our hotel.
It took some time to fall asleep. Somehow I kept on visualizing the things that happenend to him. It drove me crazy, but finally I dozed off.
We have a busy day ahead tomorrow! We're going home!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.