Rules are Made to be Broken

It’s never good to start the day with a disagreeable encounter with another resident of the estate. As my blip records, there is a notice in all the hall ways of the buildings in the estate that dogs should be kept on a lead in the grounds and not be exercised here, given the Meadows are on the other side of the railings.
Added to these notices there are pictorial signs fixed to the railings at regular intervals which indicate to those people who cannot read English that there is to be no fouling of the grounds.

All well and good you might think if you were someone who abides by rules. Unfortunately there are too many people who think these rules are for others but not for them like the lady picking up her dog’s doings very near my ‘illegal’ daffodilIs as I came back from buying the paper this morning. There she was with her poo bag, hunting for what she had missed, with the dog off lead and wandering about. I wished her Good Morning and added that I didn’t want to spoil her fun but dogs should be on the lead and not fouling the grounds. Ah! she said, I’ve picked up. Not good enough I said, there is a notice in every hallway and you can see there are explicit notices on the railings. There are children playing here and it’s not good to have poo remnants on the grass. Ah she reiterated , I always pick up and my children also play in the grounds further along. Why is it then that you come through 2 gates to let it foul outside my house and not have it foul where your children play? Well, she said you can’t control where they perform. Exactly, I said, that’s why they are not meant to be exercised in these grounds. She had an answer of course, they always do. Her dog is old and doesn’t like the Meadows and doesn’t run unchecked. With that, the dog hopped over the broken wall where someone during last night removed the temporary fencing securing entry from The Meadows and made off. With no lead , she had to follow it and walk it round the long way back into the estate. I had to smile.

The thing is I have had a dog and picking up poo is hardly ever 100% effective.
Another rant under my belt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.