Wagon wheel

Freezing fog. It works like the dust they use to find fingerprints, exposing evidence of visitors that would otherwise be overlooked. The strands hang like ratlines on a galleon. I can't believe that there was much to trap out there and the trapper too has probably gone for another year.

Not a great day to go far afield but I did nip out for some bird food. A lot will die if this cold snap is prolonged, although it's set to break by the weekend say the weather forecasters.

I love the raw cold. I'd been missing it. Maybe it's the contrasts between the cold that touches your face and the warmth inside, who knows? I just like the seasons to be defined and different. The mist is clearing now but I've seen enough of the day.

I've been wallowing in nostalgia since watching a TV documentary last night on the making of Bridge over Troubled Water. What a great song on a great album. I remember it was in the charts for ever. It made me think of other great songs that I like.

This one, Wagon Wheel, by Old Crow Medicine Show, is a song that a shooting n'fishing friend put me on to a while back. I could listen to it again and again. Come on, join in! Here's the chorus:

So rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama anyway you feel
Hey mama rock me
Rock me mama like the wind and the rain
Rock me mama like a south-bound train
Hey mama rock me


Oh well, as Frankie Howard used to say" "Please yerselves!" I'd had a few beers when I heard it the first time, and the second, love it now. Back to S&G then. When you're weary....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.