Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Uttershill Castle (remains of)

Not the Sunday ride I was planning to do. I had hoped the rain would stay away, but I end up leaving later than I normally would. It is not helped by the wind blowing in the rain at a rate of knots. So a shorter bike ride than usual. Out through Bush and Penicuik to Leadburn, then immediate turn around. The advantage was I got blown back, adding in Howgate to the passing places, with rain on my jacket. On the descent of Pomathorn, I stop for a couple of minutes to get a shot of Uttershill Castle (remains of). Then back through Pencuik, and a race home to avoid the worst of the rain.

Strava is down, so I have to load the ride through my computer (which is currently set to Italy, hence the title in the ride in Italian). the ride can be seen at Relive here.

The rain clears through quite quickly though, and in the afternoon, I walk through to Cameron Toll. I follow the Braid Hills bridleway. There's a nice view of Craigmillar Castle, also remains, but more of them. To the left, North Berwick Law can be clearly seen. At Cameron Toll, I have a nice afternoon coffee and cake to replenish me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.