Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Meta For

μετά – after
φέρω – I carry

After I had carried what I could reasonably carry, and left behind the dog (buried), the sheep (minced and frozen), and the cats & chickens (alive but not transportable), I managed to hang onto the "cow".

It has been requested that I sell the "cow" for five magic beans, which should then be equally divided into five half-beans each. I don't really fancy that idea very much and so I have been to market to find out how many magic beans I can borrow in order to be in a position to hand over five half-magic beans to interested parties.

Happily, I have learned that for sixpence a week, I can borrow enough magic beans to not need to sell the "cow". This has been calculated by clever market people who understand the value of the "cow", whether or not I can afford to pay them sixpence a week, and whether or not they will make a profit if I fail to pay, resulting in their ownership of the "cow".

Separately, I've had Loft-Inspector round. I have had the thrill of climbing his ladder and looking into the (very stinky) loft, seen a real pigeon chick (black and white! - who knew?) and agreed that if my landlord feels it is better to evict them, I shan't lie in the path of the bulldozers. 
Poor pigeons, they are so happy there. I will miss them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.