Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Space-lag

An inking yesterday and a blood test this morning after a 12-hour fast has left me somewhat fatigued.

Yesterday morning I discovered that I did not have enough yoghurt in the fridge to moisten my morning muesli, so I added what was left of my cottage cheese – not nearly as dreadful as it sounds I should like to let you know.

Because I knew that I would be having nothing-at-all for breakfast this morning, I did not bother to replenish stocks yesterday. I am therefore immensely grateful to my wonderful friend H, who visited me in Chatham from her home in Bedfordshire yesterday as her birthday treat.

I had completely misunderstood her arrival and departure times and had thought that I could fit in an inking before she arrived and then we could go together to visit the moon in Rochester Cathedral.

I was so terribly, terribly wrong. She spent a significant portion of her birthday balanced on a stool in Nomura's studio watching him apply WoW to my upper right arm, and once the job was complete we had only an hour remaining to grab a quick café lunch before she had to head Bed-wards. She did bring me some completely wonderful home-made muffins, some raspberry and some rhubarb, all grown in her gorgeous cottage garden. These were my treat on arriving back at home after this morning's blood test. Absolutely divine! Thank you SO much H!

This afternoon I wandered into Rochester to catch the moon while it is sheltering inside the Cathedral. Daytime visits are every day and free of charge. Evening visits are less frequent and bear a small fee. I have no doubt that the exhibit is more impressive after nightfall, and I would like to think that I will be able to re-charge my fuel tanks for another moon-shot before it moves out of my orbit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.