Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Problems solved

A bit of drama in the middle of the night. JR couldn’t sleep because she was worried that the new lowered ceiling was just too low... So, at 3am, there we were, studying it. And I agreed, because the pulley had to be hung as well.

And so, when our chaps arrived this morning they were greeted with the news that they had to take the steel struts down, move them up a few centimetres and do it all again. They were very calm and polite about it.

The electrician came to hang the wires for the downlights - just as well, because otherwise we'd be no further along than yesterday. There was a bit of drama over the oven ceiling exhaust fan, which is rather larger than anticipated, and dictated how low the ceiling had to be. Also a bit of a problem over getting a new electric oven with gas hob - the wires would have to go under the floorboards right out to the fuse box at the front door. A swift decision NOT to get an electric oven was made, and solved that problem.

I think the dust IS getting to me. My cold/coughing & sneezing fits have continued on and off all day. I mopped the kitchen floor (with my mask on) when the chaps had left, and coughed and coughed for ages afterwards.

Archie was out with Jordan this morning, lucky boy (Archie). JR was at her double fitness session, while I was explaining to the builders that yesterday’s work had to be undone...

This afternoon, we took a wee wander down to the crocuses, it was such a nice day.

I have just told Archie that he was a 'Good boy' and my iPad said 'Thank you'. Scary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.