Finished...

...the painting done with my left hand.

I finally used some gouache paints on the middle flowers, and for the 'sprays' of white, yellow, and blue dots. I think I went a bit 'mad' flicking those 'sprays' of paints with my left hand.

It has taken me a few days to do this painting with my non-dominant hand because my left hand and arm got tired easily. (I accidentally cut my finger on my right hand so that is out of action for the moment, it is still too painful to bend).

Also, if I painted for more than a few minutes at a time, my left hand lost its focus in holding the brush to do the strokes with the Art Kure watercolour brush pens, if that makes any sense.

I was surprised that my left hand managed this painting. It was a bit frustrating in that I wanted to use my right hand. But the left hand has its own style and flow of movement.

I sort of half believed I might be able to manage sumi-e brush painting with my left hand, because I found I held the Art Kure watercolour brushes further up the barrel with my left hand. And that made it easier to do that kind of brush stroke a bit.

Whereas when I used my right hand to hold these brushes (years ago), I held them the English way near the brush tip, and I felt it was hard to get the brush to 'flow'.

Difficult to explain.

Anyway, I am going to attempt another colourful painting with my left hand, and then if I can find my Sumi-e or Chinese painting books, I will attempt a black and white painting of that nature.

We'll see. My finger on my right hand hurts too much still when I try to grip a brush or a pen to write. It is healing okay, but it was a long deep cut.

Thanks for looking in and your comments and love.

Take care x

I will enter this flower painting for BikerBear's Flower Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.