Saturday's painting...

I have been up and awake since 3:15am this morning 

Already done my daily painting.
Back in bed for a meditation...Popeye, cat, is staring out of my window at those gusts of winds battering my garden...the wind is never going to stop is it?

I don't like this sketchbook. The pages curl badly. It is a 300gsm paper. I find that 220gsm paper doesn't do this. A few more pages to go to finish it, then a new sketchbook.

The painting took an hour. Tools used at the side. Acrylics were done first on the paper in greens last night before I went to bed. Left to dry overnight, then worked on this morning with all the stuff on the left. The Japanese fude pen first, and the brush above with some water on to blend some of the back from the fude pen. A white chalk pen. Then the green child's tempera paint stick. That is how I get the effective moss I do on trees and stone. Moon was done with the chalk pen. I did stick my finger in some white acrylic to try and do a finger moon, but it went wonky....

There endeth your painting lesson for today....

Popeye has persuaded me to open my bedroom window (it is pitch black at 5 am) to let him out there in the wilds of my garden...he has come shooting in twice like a bullet, not sure what is going on out there. He probably is spooked by the wind and all the moving stuff. I haven't let him go out after dark after he got attacked (although the attack from whatever it was happened in daylight by the cat flap). He has been building his confidence gradually. Though if I am in the kitchen he won't go out of the cat flap, but looks at me to open the kitchen door. So I open it, but I can tell from the way he is sniffing that there has been something lurking out there and left its scent. Depending on the scent, he might go cautiously out of the door, or he may look at me again, and waits for me to come out with him to the front garden. (I cannot access the back garden from my kitchen door) And then he sniffs around while I wait. Then he looks at me as though to say go in mum I am fine from here. And he disappears into the undergrowth....

I think he is doing amazing for his age to get over the attack and reassess his life so to speak. Animals (and people too) just need time and love, and then we all find a way through...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.