and through the wire...

By hesscat

Windy Mills

Whenever I see these wind turbines, they trigger conflicting sets of feelings... I could just stop and watch them spinning around (when they do spin), they look so grand, turned by an invisible force, and each time they turn they are generating some power that fossil fuels or nuclear don't have to generate.

Then I think about how they change landscapes, spoil or alter views, or kill birds (and I just googled that, and it is a fraction of how many cats kill, and I love cats), then they are expensive, and generate money for land owners, then that profit finds it way back into our community cinema, which I love, then there are the times they don't turn, and I like when it isn't windy.

Aye. But when it comes down to it, if we've plundered this world as much as we have, then we have to take the hit if we want to keep it going a bit longer.

And I am not inviting a debate here :-) I just found something to waffle about :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.