Ordinary

Today it's 8 years since the major earthquake that destroyed parts of Christchurch city.

When I reflect back on that time I realise that I still crave the ordinary and mundane. To not feel fear, dislocated, distraught, bewildered...

I'm grateful for that and mindful that many others continue to suffer. They along with those who died must never be forgotten.

Today is about ordinary. There is a weekly Friday ritual where I change my sheets and Jasper. Often it's a game of patience as he reacts to the feel and sound of fresh linen, and I try to negotiate to get my bed made so we both win. Today was less about the game and more about claiming a space on the fresh linen.

I had an ordinary day and I like that.

Today's gratitude: For the ordinary and simple things in my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.