Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Me and my mate!

CCN and I have had a wonderful day today. We were picked up late morning by our two great friends Carol and Lucille and driven out to the quaint little village of Rydal. We were all excited to see the progress that had been made on their new home they were building on their property out there. Carol had renovated a derelict cottage on the block over 15 years ago but had decided to build a much larger one higher up on the very generous parcel of land. I really thought that today we would be inspecting the newly laid slab, but to our absolute delight we were greeted with the entire frame, roofed and almost fully clad. Our friend had been keeping the rapid progress a well kept secret.

I’m so thrilled for my friend. I vividly remember leaning over the old gate at the top of the block over 15 years ago and telling my friend I thought she had bought a cracker property. Over the years Carol has become an integral part of the little village and actively partipates every year in the Rydal Daffodil Festival. We laughed today when we realised that it’s not often people build a house when the landscaping has already been completed.

I took this image with my friends Sony RX10. CCN were sitting down at the original cottage when I spotted this gloriously coloured King Parrot being stalked by the little character in the water bowl. I switched it on and started firing away. I actually really like the result!!

I was delighted to be able to take the first image of our friends standing in the doorway of their new country retreat. It will be a memory that I will cherish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.