The second half of life..

By twigs

Crown Range vista

Yay!  I finally managed to get a consistent and reliable internet connection so I could get up to date with my blips.  Whew :)

Mooched around Wanaka, consciously avoiding 'that tree' but being staggered at the number of tourists around (ooh yes - I'm one aren't I?!) and finding it hard to reconcile what I was seeing with the sleepy hollow I stumbled into over 30 years ago when I struggled to find an eating place open at 8pm!  My, how things have changed.

I decided that my stopping spot this evening would be a place I've driven many times but have only just found out it's OK to park overnight at - the summit of the Crown Range road.  This road is the highest main highway in New Zealand and reaches an altitude of 1121 metres.  Given there is a forecast of possible snow down to 1500m I know it's going to be a cold night but I'm up for the challange. 


One of the things I'm loving about my new van is the massive rear windows which provide fantastic vistas from the relative comfort of the inside.  I was excited to see the weather begin its move in as I sat and watched, warm cuppa in hand.  I was surprised to see a passenger plane manoeuvre it's way around the hill at the lower left, fly down the valley then (I assume) land safely at Queenstown airport, which is just out of sight at the near end of the lake down below.  Hope the incoming weather didn't make their ride too bumpy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.