No Flies On This Zebra Spider

It has been reported this week that a study has found that flies don't land on zebras because the stripes dazzle their low resolution eyes.

I went hunting for jumping spiders this morning and found this zebra with its prey. It dropped to the base of the brick wall and I carried on shooting. What a shock I got! Another much larger spider, a wolf I think, bounded into the frame and attacked the zebra spider, presumably to steal its prey. Spiders do prey on each other though. I've added a montage to extras. Top left is the attacking spider, top right is the blurry tussle between the two. Bottom right shows the zebra spider's sharp jaws and bottom left, again a bit blurry, shows the feisty spider's threat stance. The other spider's head can just be seen at the bottom left of this image. I'm happy to report that the little zebra spider survived unscathed, though hungry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.