Alyrobbo

By Alyrobbo

Africa

My parents, on many happy camping trips and my late husband, Peter, through the YMCA, gave me my love of travel. Yesterday I spent the day in Bridge of Allen, at the Church of Scotland’s Faithshare Orientation Day for those going abroad this year to share their faith with people in other countries.
The beautiful hall was packed, Destinations included Israel/Palestine, Hungary, Malawi and Zambia, my destination in April. I will be travelling with my fellow blipper, Alisoin Boyes for two weeks either side of Easter Day. For the first week we will be staying with families in Lubuto, Dunscore Church’s twinned congregation and for five days at the end we will be on safari.
The day was invaluable. There was a medical organisation there which looks after missionaries so I was able to talk to a doctor and get his advice for travellers with bi-polar disorder. Culture shock was covered as was reporting back when you return.
Alison and I will be speaking at Dunscore Guild Coffee Club, on the second Monday in May at Dunscore Church at 10.30am ‘Two Alisons in Africa’. All welcome and there will be a free raffle for a month’s supply of ‘Who gives a Crap’ toilet rolls, with matching bag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.