Down Memory Lane - And A Mystery Cake!

After my very late arrival in Denver I woke up this morning to a grey and snowy day. It snowed on and off all day but it didn’t stick, which I was grateful for since I was out and about all day. My main task for this trip was to renew my Colorado Driver’s License which I had to do in person this time, having done it online 5 years ago. I guess every 10 years they want us to do an eye test and have an up to date picture taken.

Once that task was accomplished this morning, I was free to do whatever else I wanted to the rest of the few days I had in Denver. Having nothing else on the agenda for today, I decided to go down memory lane and check out a few of my old neighbourhoods, as Denver has changed so much in the 27 years I’ve been gone. I’ve visited many times over those years but there’s always something new to discover. I lived in 6 different places during my 9 years in Denver - anything from 3 months to 3 years. Today I drove by 4 of those places (see Extra photo).

Two of my homes - the houses - were right by Stapleton Airport where I was based. In 1995 it was replaced by Denver International Airport, built 19 miles (31km) further away from the city. Today Stapleton Airport has been replaced by new homes, shops and restaurants, though the old air traffic control tower is still there with a new (opened in 2017) restaurant at its base (see Extra photo).

I ended up at a little shopping neighbourhood just by one of my old homes in Park Hill, near the old airport. A handful of small run down shops have now been developed into a pretty little shopping block. I stopped there and made a few purchases and ended the afternoon in a charming little bakery called Cake Crumbs.

I hadn’t had lunch so I allowed myself to indulge in this delicious cake with my coffee. I’m always drawn to cakes and desserts with unusual ingredients. And what is in this cake?? Maple and Bacon! Ooh, and was it ever delicious! Just think pancakes and bacon with maple syrup and you’ll have the idea! There was a layer of crumbled bacon in between the layers of cake. They said it was their most popular cake. Of course I had to google it and there are plenty of variations and recipes online (one here). I may have to try this at home!

By 6pm I was back at my hotel where I had a quick dinner next door and was in bed by 7pm. Jet lag always hits so suddenly! That was 2am in the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.