Threads

Inspired by the return of The Great British Sewing Bee to start a new stitching project, I spent some time today sorting out a lot of sewing stuff. The task was not too bad, as I did quite a bit of sorting and organising last year, but I still found things from way back that were just hoarded and of no use. Interesting though coming across bits from projects now lost in the mists of time. Some things belonged to my mother, who was a highly skilled dressmaker. I wonder what all these threads were used for. 

Threads of Life
Before I went away I was listening to the Book of the Week on Radio 4 - Threads of Life: A History of the World Through the Eye of a Needle by Clare Hunter. I was intrigued by the few chapters I listened to and have now ordered the book. I have also booked a place at a talk the author is giving in Edinburgh next month - should be interesting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.