2(65,)000

I am visiting the family home in Staffordshire this weekend. After a delicious meal out last night, this morning my parents and I went to the house in Newcastle-under-lyme that my sister and her boyfriend Matt have recently completed on. It's hilarious how house prices differ around the country. With the strange annex to the left of the picture, the house contains 6 bedrooms. The amount of space is massive. Although it's dilapidated, at £265,000 it's still good value and the cost was significantly lower than my one bedroom flat in Cambridge.

According to the neighbour Tristan, it has been empty for two years after the former owners died. There is much work needed to make it habitable. Lots of mustard carpets, wood panelling and retro cupboards, as well as floors that give way to clomping feet.

Matt is a builder and they've got very grand plans to rework it, which they can only do because of his professional skills. It's very exciting and I'll check the progress when I next visit from Mozambique.

After a quick panini with the parents and a trip to Coop so they could buy Vosene and liquorice allsorts, I caught the train back to Cambridge.

This is my 2,000th blip post. What an amazingly brilliant site to be contributing to. Special acknowledgement to the blippers who volunteer their time to maintain it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.