Delectable dialects

This quiz has been doing the rounds on social media, and I'm obsessing over it a little. A series of questions interrogates whether in your dialect you pronounce pairs of words differently (such as put and but) and establishes what colloquialisms are in your speech (such as saying 'tea' for evening meal). Mine was very accurate. I grew up just outside of Stoke-on-Trent and the coloured area indicates the influences on my dialect.

I forced Berry to do it this morning, and it gave him an answer of Bath. He's from Bristol, so very close. My dad got Taunton and he's from East Devon, twenty miles from there, and mum got a spread that highlighted Blackpool and the area between there and Stoke. She's lived in Wigan, Manchester and Stoke. It was spot on for friends from Liverpool and Sheffield. The algorithm is mightily clever to specifically identify the city of someone's origin.

The link to complete it is here: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/02/15/upshot/british-irish-dialect-quiz.html?smid=fb-share

I'd love to know your result and how accurate it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.