Lights, camera, action

Not often you see people making a programme for TV round here but today a very big camera was in action. The programme makers are interested in the local architecture which ranges from a few Georgian buildings, lots of Victorian villas, flats and terraces, 'homes fit for heroes' built in 1920 to much more modern dwellings. There's still a tiny bit of industry in the area too and behind the camera is the 1930's boating clubhouse and on the other side of the river the rugby club. A rich mixture indeed.

I'd been on a good walk up to Kings Park with Flora, my friend J and her gorgeous nearly two-year-old grandson. I met the camera people later on a more sedate stroll with Otter.

After I'd passed the filmmakers I saw something new to me. A bird of prey (too quick for me to identify it) had a duck in its talon. Flying over the river the duck wriggled free, fell into the water and swam away. The bird of prey was then mobbed by two crows and gave up. Didn't have the camera primed for that.

Still astonishing spring-like weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.