Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The wrong bird

I have had a wonderful time today.  Braved the frost for a very early start down to Lymington and had my longest walk yet through and round Pennington Marshes.  By 10am I was getting quite hot, even in the breezes along the sea wall.  Next time I go on a balmy day I now know I shall be able to get to Keyhaven and perhaps even catch a boat out to Hurst Castle - my long term walking target.

My blip idea for today was another water bird, but there had been a very low tide and they were far out from the sea walls.  I did see eider duck, oyster catchers, redshank, dunlin, etc., but rather distantly, and it was on my way home, passing a stand of the short, twisted, lichen-smothered oaks they grow on the Marshes that I found my blip for the day - this lovely male chaffinch (already in his summer colours, appropriately).

However, I did want to show you a little of why I love this area so much, so in Extras is a view across the water to the lighthouse and Hurst Castle, with the Isle of Wight beyond.

Okay, that's me for now.  Happy Tuesday evening  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.