An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Scarlet Tardis....

Or, the subject of the OMD song 'Red Frame White Light', the quintessential and classic red British phone box. This - and its sister, to the left is probably Salisbury's most embarrassing and ugly eyesore and my Blip 'Decrepit Cycle Lane' is a few yards to the left, also.

From the unreality of yesterday's centenary Blip - thanks to everyone for taking it in the good spirit intended - and for looking and commenting on my first 100 Blips, you do really make it worth the while! to the reality ?? of very early morning on an arterial route into Salisbury, as delivery trucks trundled in to do their business.

In Photoshop's Lens Distortion folder, I manually corrected the small amount of distortion there was, manually and then I made the image smaller, while still retaining the original canvas size, creating the 'zoom' effect at the edges.

I'm glad I got 8 or so pics of these old 'boxes, the site HAS been earmarked for renovation/refurbishment and is still under conflicts of ownership and other red tape, plus of course, a static building/development market.

Tripod-bound, ultrawide 14mm lens on full-frame D700 for 30 seconds.

GLOVES - For winter photographic work, I recommend highly and have just bought 2nd pair (I always lose one, always the right hand!) FJ Winter SOF Golf Glove, about £13 from Amazon (inc P&P - actually less than I paid last year). A good golf glove will allow feeling through the fingers, absolutely essential for your all your knobs and buttons and these are windproof and have a good, tight cuff. The men's XL size cater for BIG hands like mine. They do need a few minutes wear and use before they feel totally comfortable, then they feel like a second skin. Too expensive? ALL my insurance claims for photo gear have been down to dropping lenses onto frozen surfaces when I've had no/bad gloves when you literally can't feel a thing.

This is the link for them: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00460PCH6/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.