The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Last day in Bremen

I'm a bit annoyed that I cut off the cathedral spires, but I was shooting into the sun. I've had to adjust the tilt shift to make this look more 'normal' .The sky was a brighter blue, too, originally.

We all got up early so I could spend time with Mari before she went off to school. After they'd left, I packed, then Kim came back and we had a final cooked breakfast before she had to go to work. I hung around, then made my way on foot to the town centre, where I visited the Lutheran cathedral again. It's called St Peter's, or St Petri Dom. It is very simple inside: kind of how Church of Scotland (Presbyterian) is, to, say High Church of England, when compared to Gloucester Cathedral. I like it a lot. The tower isn't open until May, but I can come back. The jigsaw puzzles in the small shop are attractive, and that was one of my reasons for going back. I managed to buy one and squash it into my case, and then returned to the sunny market place to buy some fruit.

After that I went down the small passage called BöttcherStraße, in the old town, to see and hear the celebrated Meissen carillon. I was expecting garish shepherdesses in porcelain, but no, it's set of tasteful white bells that play a tune at midday that goes on, and on, and on... I shot a video, but it stopped after five minutes! I realised that the performance could go on for half an hour, if it's anything like the carillon at Bourneville, Birmingham, so I left to catch the tram to the airport.

My journey back, via Munich this time, on Lufthansa, was uneventful. I am pleased to report that there is free food and drink on those flights, too. The UK border face recognition machines didn't want to let me in, again! It only happens when I'm trying to to get back into the country where I live. Things can only get worse after you-know-what day.

I eventually got to Stroud around 9.15 pm, stumbled into the house, and realised that I had all of four card orders to assemble before the morning! The holiday was good while it lasted. I'm so grateful for my card business and house sitting 'gigs', which made of this possible.

Oh, and I completely missed the Oscars! Never even bought a newspaper to see who'd won what.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.