Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

T Day

On the Twelfth day of dialysis my doctor gave to me,
Twelve medics operating,
Eleven books to read,
Ten pills a popping,
Nine hours of Big D remaining,
Eight slices of toast,
Seven angelic nurses,
Six effervescent tablets,
Five day course of drugs,
Four digestive biscuits,
Three Kidneys cleaning,
Two feckin big needles,
And a super vein pumping blood.

Big D Session no: 154 was early today, because this is T Day.


It was a long old day.  My live donor was being operated in Manchester and I was able to follow progress from his wife on Twitter.  


It was scary, I cannot begin to explain how life changing this moment can be.  It's a chance at living again.


I got the call at 2:30pm to go down.  You have to psyche yourself up, physically and mentally because this is tough.  I said a word to the man to upstairs, I don't want to die.  I went into the anaesthetist chamber, I remember them saying "right we're just giving you drugs to go to sleep," and the next thing I remember is "Jamie, are you ok?" in the recovery room.


I was back on the ward around 9ish, I was keen to hear how Geoff, my live donor was, but no one seemed to know.  The nurse asked if my parents would know, so I rang them.  They were overjoyed to hear from me, especially in such good spirits.  Although that may have been the morphine.  Lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.