Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

What Stars! - My First Kidneyversary

Today is a very special day indeed, the chance to celebrate life again, grateful that a year ago today I had a kidney transplant which saved my life.  It really does feel a lifetime ago now, such is the change in my life.

There are so many people to thank, I'll cover more down below, but the stand out star is my great friend and live donor, Geoff.  His selfless act to donate one of his kidneys to me, means he is an absolute hero and I am forever grateful to him, and his wife, Chrissie, who also went through that long day a year ago.  I am privileged to know them and call them my friends.

Work doesn't matter today, it's all about celebrating life.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  My great friend and donor, Geoff and his wife Chrissie.
2.  The wonderful surgical team at UHW Cardiff and Manchester who carried out the operations.
3.  The wonderful transplant nurses at Swansea and Cardiff who supported me through this journey, Melanie, Suzanne, Sharon and Beth.
4. The wonderful support from all my friends that I received during my troubles and recovery, it meant so much, I wouldn't be here if it wasn't for them and dug me out from wanting death

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.