Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Curious Incident of the Wet Trousers

Well what an eventful day!

I was back on the train to head to Stoke on Trent for a meeting.  All went well on the way up, the meeting went well and I managed to catch the train back without any dramas.  But then events began in earnest.

Somebody was already in my seat, but I couldn't be bothered arguing because I was only going to read on the way back rather than fire up the laptop.  I'd barely settled into my seat when the lady opposites cup of tea was hit by a gentlemen walking down the aisle with a big bag, the tea had no lid on it and it went all over my trousers, book, lunch and seat.  After the initial shock and annoyance, you realise there is not much you can do at this point.  The lady was very apologetic and wanted to pay for the dry cleaning for my trousers, but I told her not to worry there are far more important things in life.  Which actually led to me discussing all about my transplant journey then.

Everything returned to normal, and then we got to Cheltenham, delayed by another train which meant it was now really tight for my connection at Bristol.  I missed my train by a minute, luckily though only a 20 minute wait.  It arrived 5 minutes early as well, on to Newport and then we lost all that time and fell behind, there were no platform staff so they couldn't go until they had checked with the control room.  This meant we had fallen behind a Transport for Wales train all the way home then, arriving more than half an hour later than planned.  Ho hum!

Tomorrow I celebrate my first kidneyversary.  Amazing! Incredible!

Today I am thankful for:

1.  A nice chat with complete strangers on the train after the trouser incident
2.  Letting the stupid little things in life that go wrong, go completely over my head, a kidney transplant can do that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.