Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Slow Train to Home

Up at sparrow fart o'clock to catch the train to Winchester.

I was a bit worried about travelling given the storm over the weekend, but having checked before I set off they appeared to be running.  We were delayed on the way down by about 25 minutes due to flooding around Chipping Sodbury, and it was touch and go whether I would make my connection.  I did, although there was only 3 minutes in it.  Yikes!

A good meeting with the company we bought at the back end of last year, a lot of work ahead though to integrate them.  Luckily I was able to get away a little bit early and just about made an earlier train than planned.

Not that it helped, the journey home was delayed by about an hour and a half, again the problem was around Chipping Sodbury.

Rest up tonight before I head off again on the train to Stoke tomorrow.

Today's blip is the contrast of Reading train station, a mixture of the old Great Western buildings with the new modernised platforms.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  A chance to finish a book on the train, and discover a new author
2.  Making my connections on the train, and getting an early one
3.  A delicious tea of sea bass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.