Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Storm Dennis

Storm Dennis has battered South Wales overnight and into this morning.  Parts of the Neath Valley have really suffered, just down the road houses in Aberdulais had to be evacuated.  The roads all around have been unpassable as well, due to floods or debris on the road.  I'm lucky, where I live we're not really in danger zone, but I feel sorry for all those who have suffered, it must be so devastating.

This is a photo of the mountain opposite, it's not particularly clear but the water was just streaming down from the mountains.  Previously it had been a dense forest which would have slowed down the progress of water, and I don't think that it is no coincidence that we've had a few landslips since they started cutting down the trees.  There are houses at the bottom, I wouldn't be particularly happy.  

I was supposed to go out for lunch, but luckily we cancelled it as it just wouldn't have been safe.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  The amazing work of the rescue services who have been out all across the country helping those people in need because of this storm
2.  A chance to chill and do some reading

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.