Dakers

By Dakers

Peacock and Fox today.

Beautiful sunny day today and I spent some time walking outside in the garden. A very quite period just now as the Snowdrops are past and the Daffodils have still open.

Pat has also reupholstered this Victorian armchair and used the Forest Fabric again, this time featuring the Peacock.

The extra Blipfoto features an Ikea Bargain Basement Chair which she also upholstered with Forest Fabric.This one features the Fox.

All three chairs are also covered in the same fabric on the back and sides.

Pat has been sewing and upholstering since her teens and usually works with an almost antique industrial sewing machine made by Singer in their Clydebank Factory in Scotland. It is certainly something of a World Traveller, having been bought in California, used there and also in Puerto Rico, before returning to Scotland, where I fitted it with a Singer motor more suited to UK electricity.

She also makes clothes, bedspreads, curtains, table cloths and napkins. All of this is very much a hobby.

And now a Fox Tail.
One winters day about 35 years ago, Pat and I were surveying the land boundary in the West of Scotland. The ground was hilly and mixed forest. The weather was "bleak" to put it mildly. Not quite as bad as "The Beast from the East" which started on this day last year.

I was walking along the boundary fence and I found myself being accompanied by a Fox on the other side. He kept pace with me and occasionally looked me in the eye. He had the look of one who was thoroughly fed up with his lot.
Of course, he was hungry and cold. I know just how he felt.

Today Pat is busy painting a portrait of a close friend.

I have added an extra photo which I took after I had posted this. It shows 5 deer enjoying the sun and grazing on The quickly growing crop. I took this (much cropped) picture with my iPhone and then intended to fetch my telephoto lens equipped camera. The deer immediately trotted off into the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.