Fog. What fog?

Well, there was none in Strete, though we did find some early haze as we drove down to Dartmouth, but it cleared quickly, and we enjoyed yet another summery day. As I mentioned earlier this month, it's the first time for seven years that we've not been to Madeira to escape the grey skies of winter. But - as one blipper pointed out - Madeira has come to us this year, and certainly I cannot remember a more lovely February weatherwise, nor so many deep blue skies.

Mr PP dropped me off in Dartmouth early, so's I didn't have to fret about finding a parking space. I attended the audio-clinic to be fitted with hearing-aids. The whole process of fine-tuning the devices, and training me in their use, took just over an hour. I've had them in ever since and can't believe how loud everything is. Apparently, my brain should learn to tone down the unimportant noises and concentrate on speech, and so on. I was told it takes about 6-8 weeks to get used to wearing them, but so far I'm well impressed. Only disappointment is that my tinnitus (that they said would be rendered less noticeable) is at least as loud, if not louder than ever.

While I waited for Mr PP to pick me up, I noticed two olive trees growing in the town. I'd just recognised their leaves when I spotted they were both in fruit with a handful of black olives. The trees looked very young. The last I saw, in Madeira and the south of France respectively, were each 1000 years old. Quite a difference, but again I'm left with the feeling of being on holiday. So lucky to live in this beautiful region!

Now, do I believe the forecast of rain tomorrow? I fear it might be accurate this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.