Stormy Business

Mrs. Cardinal and I shared a 'sisterhood' moment.  Snowstorms are horrid for hairdos and coats.  Mr Turkey had the right idea.  He had found shelter under a tree and stuck his head into his feathers (?) to wait out the storm.  I tiptoed (as much as humanly possible in winter boots) to not disturb him. (extra...made me smile)

The best part of the day was reconnecting with a student who I taught 25 years ago.  When he first arrived at our school, he was echolalic and loved to pull out hair, spit, scream, etc.  His mum was a single mum and was scared to take him outside so I used to walk over to his house and walk him to back and forth to school every day (no way would I be permitted to do that now!).

I adored him. We had such an amazing student/teacher relationship and I 'broke his code'.  I was so invested in him that I wrote Temple Grandin for any suggestions she might have and received a wonderful letter in return.  Long story short, he learned how to read, write, do math, and became a little chatterbox!  His mum got a new house and for 1/2 year I home-schooled  him until he adjusted to living somewhere new.  So odd to think back at all the 'different' things we did years ago to meet the needs of the children - not treat them like a business.

Anyway, it is so great to hear from him and I cannot wait to arrange to visit S and his mum.  I foresee a blip in the future....  : ))

Oh, my...I just realized that it is Hump Day.  Woo hooo!!!!  Hope yours was a good one!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.