flavia13

By flavia13

THE TALE OF TWO BAD MICE

Hello all, what a change to the weather it has been today, but much more seasonal really.  

Our friend G and I went to Hill Top today, home of Beatrix Potter. We stopped off at Esthwaite Water on the way just to take a few photos, it is so tranquil there and lovely even when very misty.  Esthwaite Water is one of my favourite lakes because it is small, quiet and very beautiful.

 I've been meaning to go to Hill Top since we moved here but it's always so busy.  This time we arrived before they opened and it was fairly quiet to start with, then got busier, but not overly busy later.  I just love to soak up the atmosphere of a place, which you can't do if there are too many people around.  I sat on one of the window seats and read The Tale of the Two Bad Mice and got a real sense of what it must have been like for Beatrix to have lived there.

The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly and I learnt quite a few things about Miss Potter that I didn't know before.

We then went to the Sawry Arms Hotel for coffee and homemade cheese scone.  Thank goodness we decided to share one, it was enormous - very delicious and homemade though.  I will go back to the Sawry Arms Hotel again just to have some lunch as it was a lovely place, perhaps after another visit to Esthwaite Water.

Then just came home as the weather had turned somewhat rainy by then.

I had hoped to take part in Abstract Thursday again, but couldn't find anything suitable to photograph.  I've included a few extras just for fun, including Mr Jeremy Fisher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.