BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Grass Landing

Lovely day for flying so climbed into my Piper and took a trip down to Junction, TX where I was able to pick up D after his weekend retreat and also eat some good Barbecue.  It was about an hour and 40 minute trip down there and as I approached the small municipal airport, the weather report indicated a 10 knot wind directly 90 degrees to the main 5,000 ft runway.  As it happened, they also sported a short 2,000 ft grass runway perpendicular to the main runway and so allowing me to land into the wind instead of negotiating a direct crosswind.  So, first time for everything, I joined the traffic pattern for a landing on runway 08 and floated down nicely onto a slightly more bumpy surface than usual.  Picture out of the cockpit after I came to a full stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.