YorkieFife

By YorkieFife

Sun setting over the Forth

Taking youngest offspring to créche this afternoon, I couldn't help but see the fire in the sky over the Forth. Due to a diversion (caused by a burst pipe, apparently), I didn't have time to stop on the way there and was hoping like mad that the colours wouldn't disappear before I got back to a spot I could shoot from.

Thankfully, I dropped her off and when I made it back down to Limekilns, the sky was still the same (as you can see). Called in on Silverback and dragged him out down to the harbour at Charlestown.

Was playing with my (very cheap) ND filters and found that I can't have the 24-105 at it's widest with the filter holder fitted. I shouldn't have been surprised, really; it's a cokin P system (not cokin ND's) and the filter thread is 77mm. Well, more accurately, I can have the lens at it's widest, but the filter holder encroaches on the field of view.

Anyways, 3 stop soft grad over the sky and a 10 stop to give the long exposure. There's a definite magenta tinge to the grad which had to be removed in LR before export for this image, but I can see that being a definite advantage for some sky images.

Happy shooting all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.