picturesofme

By picturesofme

The beach is better in winter

I like the beach in summer, but I prefer it in winter. A few years ago Joski and I were house sitting for a couple of friends (Rachel and Steve) over new year. On New year's day we went for a walk on the beach and there was hardly anyone around. It was really cold, there was frost on the pebbles, and it was beautiful. I think that was when Joski suggested we think about moving here at some point and now, four or five years later, here we are.
In the summer the beach is great for lots of reasons, but it is so busy that at times you can barely move! No, it is definitely a winter place for me.
The reason I was there today was because I went to the North Lanes to have coffee with a friend of mine, Emily, who I haven't seen for years. It was really lovely to see her. We will have to make sure it isn't so long 'til next time! She was running a little late though, so while I was waiting for her to arrive I wandered down to the pier to take some photos. I took tons, and for once I actually felt like I had a few potential blips to choose from!
The cold weather, the sunshine and the beach reminded of that new year's day walk with Joski. Then I saw these two people looking over the side of the pier and wondered if they were a couple and whether they lived here or were just visiting. Then I quickly set up this shot and managed to catch them before they left.
The composition of this shot is somewhat similar to one I took in the summer of the other pier that burned down and is now only a frame. I think that one was one of the best photos I have taken and that maybe these two would go together well as a pair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.