VISIT TO TWIGS COMMUNITY GARDENS

I didn’t sleep very well, mainly because I was coughing a lot, but not one to feel sorry for myself, I thought it might be a good idea to go out rather than mope about indoors.  Next week at the Radio Station, Shirley wants me to interview a lady who is connected to TWIGS, so I thought it would be a good idea to go down to these community gardens and have a look round - at least I would be out in the open air.

When we first got there, we spoke to Julie, who is the Gardening Co-ordinator, so I explained that I would be interviewing a lady from TWIGS next week and wanted to see the garden for myself beforehand. She very kindly gave us a quick run-down of what was where in the garden and then left us to explore. She did mention all the beautiful Hellebores around the garden so I took lots of photographs of those. 

I should explain that TWIGS, which is an acronym for Therapeutic Work in Gardening in Swindon, has been open for over twenty years.  It has helped those who have experienced mental health issues, such as anxiety and depression, by providing a safe environment for them and gives them a chance to regain their self-esteem and confidence.  I didn’t realise that people can be referred to TWIGS by their GP, mental health worker or a psychologist or can apply themselves to work there.

You will see from my collage that there are some wonderful sculptures around the gardens, from a Willow lady to a huge metal snowdrop and even a horse and jockey jumping over a fence.  There was a lady thatching the round house, who was happy for me to take her photograph and chat to her and several others, obviously helping in various ways around the gardens. There is also a craft room, but we didn't go in there this time.

The very large garden is divided up into smaller gardens, and most of them had a plaque nearby to explain what it was all about.  What a wonderful way to help those who need to have their confidence restored.  We bought several plants at very good prices, and I am sure we will be going back there before too long;  now at least I have an idea of what this wonderful organisation is all about.

I felt very tired when we got back, so went up to bed for about an hour and ended up sleeping for over three!  Guess it will just be beans and scrambled egg on toast for tea!

“A garden is a grand teacher. 
It teaches patience and careful watchfulness; 
it teaches industry and thrift; 
above all it teaches entire trust.”
Gertrude Jekyll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.