Arachne

By Arachne

Taking photographs

I went out this morning with something specific in mind and didn't find it. Except that at one point someone was emerging through an arch and I pointed and shot without properly seeing them and yes, that was the person I wanted. They strode right past me before I could react, then disappeared.

I walked round Oxford practising what I'd say to ask permission if I just happened to come across them again. As I turned left into Turl Street 50 minutes later I saw them opposite me, turning right into the same street. Just as if I were in a Philip Pullman story.

My imaginary words turned to dust in my mouth. I ran in parallel, hoping to get in front, then watched them open a heavy wooden door and step through. I watched it swing shut. Exactly as if I were in a Philip Pullman story. And as it happens, we were both right outside his fictional Jordan College.

So instead, here are some bulldogs who clearly have an interesting backstory.

This is all true but also, kind of, an allegory. Thank you for being here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.