Trendsetter

I took a short cycle ride via Norwood, likely to be the last in shorts for a while. At Timble I spotted Farmer John and stopped for a chat. He always looks the same. He said that he can't be dealing with spending much on tailoring but, nonetheless, likes to think of himself as a trendsetter. Those were his words. He has a different coloured piece of string for every occasion. Today was yellow. 

As I made to leave he picked up my gloves from the wall where I'd left them and started to walk away. I couldn't let him get away with that. I need my gloves. We had a good laugh over that and he broke out into a perfect rendition of the Yorkshireman's motto ...

“Ear all, see all, say nowt;
Eyt all, sup all, pay nowt;
And if ivver tha does owt fer nowt -
Allus do it fer thissen.”

which for those of you not born in God's own county, translates as ...

"Hear all, see all, say nothing; 
Eat all, drink all, pay nothing;
And if ever you do anything for nothing – 
always do it for yourself."

He remains as sharp as a pin. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.