If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Llyn Ogwen.

Off down to spend the weekend in north Wales to meet a couple of my college mountaineering friends.  I had arranged to meet Phil in the Siabod café at Capel Curig.  Arriving an hour or so early I decided to revisit a site etched in my memory from 50+ years ago.   So I made my way up the valley to Llyn Ogwen.

Many changes!   The little green "Oggie Tea Shack" had gone and seems to have been replaced by a car park and National Park building.  The wild goats so timid 50 years ago seemed to think grazing in the car park was normal, well at least one did.

The rocky promontory  is the site etched in my mind.  A young student chairman of the College Scout and Guide club had arranged a week end up in the valley (that's me in case you hadn't guessed).  The plan was some were going to bivi in the known shelter in the rocks and the rest camp on the patches of grass.

Darkness was falling and it was pouring down.  So while I went round helping those who needed it Phil was going to put up out tent.  All went well into the sleeping bags and off to sleep.  In the wee small hours I rolled over into........                              Water!!!   Phil had pitched in a rock saucer which was rapidly filling up!

To cut a long story short he ended up sleeping in the front of a mini van and an 18 st second row forward and I in the back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.