hpx

By hpx

Grinding coffee

Wellington had more than a month's worth of rain today. Most it fell when I was shifting hotels. While both hotels were barely 5 minutes walk apart, any part of me not covered by my jacket was soaked.

But I'm happy to say the 5 star bathroom lived up to my hopes. No more feet in the shower cubicle from the loo, or local flood when I showered. Plus, a nice big bath to soak in. Needless to say I tested everything thoroughly ;-). A hotel room is a hotel room in any guise and it isn't home.

My conference, Webstock, came together for me yesterday. I have plenty to think about and new ideas to implement. For all the 'geeky' things we do and feel passionate about, it's still all about people. If people can't find, understand or achieve their goal on the web, then any amount of whiz bang clever stuff doesn't matter. Sometimes I feel like too much of a people person for my job but maybe not.

I blipped the two lovely baristas from 'People's Coffee' who have lovingly made free coffees for us over the last two days. Thanks guys. (Roughly 1000 coffees made, 4 of which I ordered and consumed :-)

If you fancy a little trivia, Google a fish called Mr Blobby. He may not win a fish beauty award but he's kind of appealing in a cartoonish kind of way. (just something I learned today, and he was caught off the New Zealand coast).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.