Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Bird ringing at Ashwood

There was a demonstration of bird ringing at Ashwood Nurseries given by Belvide Ringers this morning.They caught and ringed an amazing number of birds while we were there, including blue tits, great tits, a coal tit, siskins, bramblings, a robin, a chaffinch and woodpeckers. It rained fairly heavily for much of the time, but the birds and ringers were under cover and it was the audience who were out in the rain. It was a good test of the weather resistance of the camera - the only problem I had was when an accumulation of raindrops on the viewfinder eyepiece persuaded the camera I had it up to my eye and disabled the rear screen. The light was very poor, and with the small subjects and movement I had to use a high ISO setting, and even then I could not get an adequate speed and aperture.

There are a couple of extras, but for a few more photos please see my blog at www.mikehessey.co.uk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.