Plus ça change...

By SooB

Talking about the book

First off, thanks for all the great comments about yesterday's funny telly. I know the PS work was a bit rubbish but, as ever, I got bored of tinkering with it.

Book group night tonight, at mine, and here's a quick snap of the books I thought I'd suggest for everyone to pick our next book from:

1. Nigel Tranter: historical fiction/fact from a local writer;

2. Thomas Hardy: classic, but small writing (always a concern for those of us ladies of a certain age - or in my case just with rubbish eyesight and a very lame bedside light)

3. A modern novel that I loved.

Happily everyone went for the last one. I don't know if it will give us much of a meaty discussion, but it's a fine read with wonderfully sparse prose. It's the only novel I've ever recommended to Mr B that he actually liked (he described it as Hemmingwayesque - which is high praise indeed from him, even if it is nonsense).

By tradition, we don't tend to talk about the book, but rather treat these evenings as an excuse for gossip and drinking (like you need an excuse). Lately we've made a concerted effort to be more bookish about it - we have a prompt list of issues to look out for and I even took notes on the last book. This has lead to some proper literary discussions which is, of course, lovely, but the main effect seems to be to extend the evening so we still have time for all the gossiping and wine. Everyone finally left at 1.30ish tonight so this is probably my latest blip ever.

Anyway, a nice night. I'm off now to scoff the rest of the mackerel pate before bed. Here's hoping the kids are as keen on the idea of a lie in tomorrow as I am....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.