Plus ça change...

By SooB

All change

I don't take photos like this. I always admire the architectural shots I see on blip, all geometric and abstract, but I just don't ever take them. Maybe I live in the wrong part of the world for that. So instead of a snowy mountain, here's the departure terminal at Girona Airport. They have been building new terminals and car parks ever since we first started flying here and, as you can see, there's no sign of it stopping.

Our last day in France was a beautiful clear blue sky day, if slightly chilly. We mucked around in the garden with the kids, then had a blow out brunch of all the food left in the house and said goodbye to our friends who'd been with us for the week. (We actually did see them one more time, though I'm not sure they noticed, when we passed them on the motorway. I saw them a bit late and waved like mad. The white van driver in front of them certainly felt very popular and gave me a very cheery wave back.)

I thought I was mostly going to be telling you today about the curious couple opposite me on the plane, who spent the whole flight alternately licking each other's faces and bitching about my hand luggage. But then we arrived in Edinburgh and headed to the car. Which wouldn't start. We've been caught out by the immobiliser before but this was something new. Flat battery. The AA weren't answering the phone (I was about to say "So much for them being the fourth emergency service as they advertise". But then the only time I've had to call an ambulance, they didn't answer the phone either.) The lovely, lovely kind-hearted, going out of his way to be helpful driver of the bus that shuttles between the airport and the car park (NCP Scotpark - they were so helpful that I think they've earned a little blipplug) took us back to their office where it was warm, and then went off and found someone who could come and get the NCP van and some jumpleads to get us started. And off we went.

I think Mr B prides himself on never allowing any arrangement to be simple - I'm not sure we have ever just gone on holiday then gone home like most folk seem able to do. So instead of going from Edinburgh airport to our own house, a mere 45 minutes away, we had planned to drop in on my parents - a slightly less convenient two and a half hours away. We had a quick stop (engine still running all the while) in Biggar for chips and made it to Northumberland without having to stop the car and risk stalling before the battery was properly charged.

The cause of the flat battery: some kind of fault in a cd changer which meant it was constantly trying to change cds. Happily, in this ipod age, we can just disconnect it.

As an ironic footnote, a year ago (exactly) some blipfriends were staying with us and having terrible trouble getting back home as their car was broken down. I was hoping to pop over and see them while in Northumberland and mentioned on her blip yesterday that hopefully no-one would break down this time. Hahaha.

Sorry for going on so, and for being a bit rubbish with viewing and commenting lately - hopefully will have more time (and broadband!) for that now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.