Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Rummage

Given it was a quiet, rainy Sunday I played board games and nerf battles with the kids and did a bit of rummaging in the stuff pile room (which also makes a good nerf defensive base).

My rummage surfaced these traces of my one and only Interrail adventure, a trip brought about by a visit to Swedish 5-Day O-Ringen in Borås in 1986.

The itinerary (overnights in bold): Rhyl-London-Chatham-Dover-Calais- Amiens-Paris-Basel- Lucerne-Basel-Frankfurt-Hamburg-Copenhagen-Gothenburg-Borås-Gothenburg-Hamburg-Paris-Calais-Dover-London-Rhyl.

Highlights included great fireworks in Paris on Bastille Day, two nights in a nuclear bunker in Lucerne (youth hostel overflow), getting tutted at for drinking wine in a park in Frankfurt, six nights staying on an active army base in Sweden, a moose encounter and finally working out how to navigate round Swedish forests on the last day of five runs.

Given I have these travel documents and a few dateable photo prints from the trip I might do a few archive blips to fill out the trip. In which case I'll link to them from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.