It was either...

...finishing the kitchen or finishing this painting. The painting won!

Another left handed painting from me. My right dominant injured hand is still getting better.

I woke up this morning with this painting in my head. It was the explosion of a bright sunrise. I went and attempted the background. The only way I could do this was to cut a round disc of paper and put it over the circle after I had painted inside the circle with the gel pens.

Once I had the paper over it, I could do the colour detail round the disc.

I was going to leave it until tomorrow to do the silhouettes of the trees. I was putting off doing the trees, because I don't have control over my left hand, the same way as I do with my right hand.

I could see the negative thinking creeping in. So, I gave myself a talking to in just the same way as I have done in the past to others who say 'I can't do it' etc. Your brain comes up with a pile of stuff...you can't hold the brush, you can't control the brush, there's no way you can paint anything that's recognisable as a tree with your left hand for the first time ever...

My brain went on and on, and finishing cleaning the kitchen seemed the most attractive option...

Hang on!

You can do it. Okay, you can't hold the brush in the same way as you can with the right hand. You can't draw a controlled line in the same way as you can with the right hand...and more...

So what? Does it matter? You can hold the brush even if it is near the top of the brush. You can touch the paper with the brush. Let the paint makes its own stroke with the brush tip. Just let it go...let it flow...you have 45 minutes and then your painting is finished.

But...

No buts...just do it.

So I did. And it was curiously satisfying.

Okay, your 45 minutes is up. Stop now! So I did! Photographed it, and am now snug in bed posting this!

I shall have to see if I wake up with another picture to paint tomorrow...

Thank you very looking in and your kind comments.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.