Ice "Stalagmites"

I took a walk today, the first time I'd actually felt like going out for a walk in two weeks. Hopefully this is a sign that health really is returning after two weeks of cold and lethargy. We pushed ourselves to go out while the visitors were here but it was a real effort!
Today I walked down the steep hill and across the lake, on the ice. I took advantage of the very hard snow which means we can basically walk anywhere without sinking into the snow. I wandered around on the ice-covered lake and also across the snow-covered fields.
I finished up by walking to this defunct tunnel to see how the ice formations were developing. As you can see they are developing well! They form in the first 50 meters, where there's a fair bit of water leaking in from the roof and where the temperature is influenced most by the outside world.
As I took the picture I had passed all the ice and was looking back towards the entrance. Behind me the tunnel continues back into the hill but there's no more ice and the floor is just sand.
And finally my blips are up-to-date for 2019!  The last couple of weeks I was feeling very slow. I got the daily pictures but that was as far as I managed. But now, over the last 3 days, I've been catching up and today I finally managed to get today's picture up on the right day!!
The next stage is catching up on the comments!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.