lovelife209

By mindful_life

Monday meetings!

My 12 mile run yesterday didn’t stop me getting up for my morning run although I only did a relatively short one before getting home before 7am. I did some long stretching and some meditation before waking the children and getting ready for school and work.

My day at work was a fairly standard day, followed by a meeting at school. My daughter is in her final year of primary school and is shortly going to be taking SATS and so the meeting was to explain the tests, how we can help at home and what happens during the exam week. It was a useful meeting and we were shown these books at the end of we wish to purchase some for our children to practice at home. I am in two minds about it really. My daughter does well at school, never really complains about tests and in their mock tests did just fine, so I am minded not to add any pressure at home by asking her to do more preparation.

At the end of the meeting there was a lot of conversing between parents about school places, SATS and general catching up with each other which was lovely!

When I got home an old friend came over for coffee, who I haven’t seen for quite some time, so more conversing took place there!!!

“I can accept failure, but I can’t accept not trying.” Michael Jordan

I love this quote and is quite poignant after today’s meeting about SATS. So much pressure is put on children these days, far more than when I was at school and I don’t entirely agree with the amount of testing that takes place. But I am certainly powerless to do anything about it. I know my daughter and my son try hard and that is all I can and will ever ask.

And on the subject of conversing, I think that cultivating the ability to have open dialogue with our children is fundamentally important. I am writing this after my children have gone to bed but will try and keep this in mind tomorrow and converse with them a little more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.